Notable Win

Posted by Kris | Tuesday, August 26, 2008 | | 0 comments »

Resounding win for Anwar with 15,671 majority
BUKIT MERTAJAM: As expected Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim won the Permatang Pauh by-election, but what was impressive was the margin of victory.
The PKR leader was returned to Parliament with a majority of 15,671 votes, exceeding the 13,388-vote majority achieved by his wife Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail in the March 8 general election

Anwar garnered 31,195 votes to beat Barisan candidate Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah, who garnered 15,524 votes, while low-key Angkatan Keadilan Insan Malaysia candidate Hanafi Hamat lost his RM15,000 deposit after getting only 92 votes.
The closely watched by-election was called after Dr Wan Azizah resigned from her post as MP on July 31, barely five months after she had won the seat, to enable her husband to run for election.